Samsung Galaxy Tab - Oh, That Screen

Really, I have to commend Samsung here. There’s no AMOLED, no IPS, and no S-LCD, but they managed to put a very high quality LED-backlit LCD panel into the Galaxy Tab. The contrast ratio is a devilish 666:1, neatly splitting the difference between the EVO 4G and the Dell Streak, but well short of the iPad’s stellar 934:1 number. But the best thing about the screen is that even without any of the more advanced display technologies, viewing angles are still excellent. As we’ve mentioned before, viewing angles are significantly more important for tablets than netbooks or notebooks, so it’s reassuring to see that Samsung recognizes this.

Display Contrast

The 7” display packs the same WSVGA resolution as most 10” widescreen tablets, so the pixel density is relatively high at 170ppi (versus 138 for the iPad and 116 for most 10” WSVGA tablets). Current rumors put some of the upcoming 10” tablets at 1366x768 or 1280x800, so we’ll see pixel density rise for the industry as a whole, but overall the Galaxy Tab has a pleasantly crisp screen.

The end user experience of any tablet really begins with the screen, and it’s probably one of the most overlooked components in any given device. The display can really make or break any tablet, so it’s important to note that the Galaxy Tab has a very good one.

Samsung Galaxy Tab - The Hardware Samsung Galaxy Tab - Size Really Does Matter
POST A COMMENT

97 Comments

View All Comments

  • tipoo - Thursday, December 23, 2010 - link

    No problem. Reply
  • SimKill - Thursday, December 23, 2010 - link

    This is a minor pet peeve but when you( you != Specific author, you == general) write your reviews I think there was one more where you'd written '[Product] - The Anandtech review' instead of '[X] review' like before.

    I'm coming to Anandtech, it would be fairly obvious to me that the reviews on this site would be AnandTech reviews and wouldn't be rip offs from other websites.

    Oh, and good job.
    Reply
  • tipoo - Thursday, December 23, 2010 - link

    I love how you used !=. Do I detect a CS student/graduate? Reply
  • SimKill - Thursday, December 23, 2010 - link

    Nah, mech grad here with boatloads of programming. I find != the most unambiguous way to 'I don't mean X when I say Y'. Reply
  • tipoo - Thursday, December 23, 2010 - link

    Ah, I see. From what I've seen people who haven't done any programming use =/= to denote "does not equal", whereas people who have programed like us use !=. Reply
  • TheStu - Thursday, December 23, 2010 - link

    I would say that the reason for saying [Product - The Anandtech Review] instead of just calling it [Product Review] is that Anandtech reviews tend to includ more technical information than others, there is still subjectivity in the writing, but what I take away from Anandtech's reviews is a better objective view of the product.

    So, although it is self serving, and a bit narcissistic to label it as [Product - The Anandtech Review], it does serve the purpose of making it clear what you are getting.
    Reply
  • synaesthetic - Thursday, December 23, 2010 - link

    I find it helpful because I read most of my tech blows in an RSS feed reader, and can't always immediately tell which blog posted the article! Reply
  • SimKill - Sunday, December 26, 2010 - link

    This is a fair point. But I generally group my RSS by websites. So if I click on Anandtech I can see AT reviews and so on and so forth. Reply
  • SimKill - Sunday, December 26, 2010 - link

    We know what we get from them which is exactly why we come here time and again. I found this to be a little immature for such an awesome set of people.

    And why not let the review speak for itself instead.

    Don't get me wrong, there's a reason why I wait for AT reviews before deciding on anything major but I felt that as a group of highly professional writers I believe that there should be no place for self-serving and narcissism. But then again as the subject title indicates clearly, it's a minor peeve.

    I still love AT reviews.
    Reply
  • ATOmega - Thursday, December 23, 2010 - link

    I have two major complaints over how manufacturers are approaching android tablets:

    First, it's very difficult if not impossible to get one not as part of a carrier plan. So currently Apple has zero competition for their iPads without 3G/4G. As much as some people will see this as an outdated market, here in Canada lots of people are avoiding our major carriers because they're a bunch of greedy a$$holes. There's very little point in having their data plans on tablets because you're still stuck rationing out MBs...Kind of takes the fun out of it.

    Second, they're way overpriced. If as a result of the price being designed to encourage data plans, or if the manufacturers actually think they're worth that...The SOCs are dirt cheap as advertised by the people who make them and as part of the Android promise. The additional hardware used to make up the systems aren't nearly enough to reach $700 either. At the very least, we should be seeing sub $400 prices for non 3G/4G models.

    I want Android tablets on the shelfs of local computer stores (big box or wholesale alike) and available without data plans.

    I'd love to see Anandtech take on these details in future reviews. But I'm glad they're looking at Android the way they are already. Good show.
    Reply

Log in

Don't have an account? Sign up now